And to you Good Day…

by durian & the Lyon

BOWTIES!Yesterday I posted the event info, images, and event page for a Bowtie Trunk show I’m having down at Ridgway Bar & Grill this Friday. This fueled the usual panic attack spurred by realizing that people are actually going to come to something I created and I better make it awesome. I ran around the house a few times like a cat. Then got to work. I have some great Bowties in the works right now and I’m pretty excited to get them done. 
I have been in Naples, FL for a little over a month now and it has been busy. Tis the Season. I have been working a lot at Ridgway Bar & Grill serving…. I do actually love serving; its a fun multi-tasking puzzle, fast-paced, and a change of scenery. And last year, serving here is what enabled me to go home to Eugene and put 100% of my time into my business. My hope is this year, the money I make will be going into growing the business when I return to Eugene. But right now, its lots and lots of restaurant work. 

Until this week. Back to the Bowtie business. Last night, the manager asked me why I was in such a good mood. I thought about it and said, “I think its because I had the time today to actually work on my Bowties and give the business some attention. Whenever I do that, I feel most like myself. Like I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing.” So even just noticing that makes me happy. I think I was a little burned out after Holiday Market, worked like crazy and needed a little Bowtie-break. We all need breaks even from the things we love sometimes. I can be a fairly flighty person and need change in my life. Making Bowties is the longest job I have ever had as a bill-paying adult and I want to keep it. I have learned a few things over the years about how to manage myself and keep my interested in something. And obviously, still learning. 

So, I’m excited. Having a Bowtie sale. I’m going to get to work.